When Dame Malvina established the Foundation in 1991, she reached out to her many friends and contacts throughout New Zealand to set up regional committees. The focus of these committees is on fostering local talent and supporting the development of young emerging artists in their communities. The committees organise local events to showcase young artists and raise funds to assist them to achieve their dreams.

Auckland Committee

Formed in 2005 with the aim of building the Foundation’s profile and raising funds, the Auckland Committee has run many successful events with Dame Malvina and performers including well-established and promising young artists.

The Committee awards the annual Alice Cole Piano Scholarship and Arts Excellence Awards for the Auckland region.

  • Susan Gaddis ONZM JP (Secretary)
  • Ian Gardiner (Treasurer)
  • Tavis Gravatt (Events Manager)
  • David Jackson
  • Rachel Sutherland
  • Gillian Wess

Waikato Committee

The most recent committee to be formed, the Waikato Committee is actively establishing its presence in the Waikato area, helped greatly by Hamilton resident, Dame Malvina.

The Committee has held a number of sell-out concerts showcasing young performers alongside those who have already established their reputation and careers in the performing arts.

The Committee awarded its first Arts Excellence Awardsfor the Waikato region in 2014.

  • Ann Bennett
  • Glenese Blake
  • Francis Cowan

Taranaki Committee

The Taranaki Committee actively supports the growth in the artistic development of young Taranaki perfomers. Alongside support and involvement from Dame Malvina, generous sponsorship from the TSB Community Trust has enabled the Committee to award over 600 grants amounting to over $500,000 since 2006.

The Committee awards Arts Excellence Awards twice a year for the Taranaki region.

  • Robin Brockie (Chair)
  • Rebekah Lock (Administration)
  • Steak Goodin
  • Anthony Joines
  • Shirley Murphy


PO Box 146
New Plymouth

Wellington Committee

Since the Wellington Committee started in 2000 it has held several fundraising events at Government House, private homes and vineyards. Dame Malvina and her emerging artists are a great drawcard and have also featured at Wellington’s Malvina Major, Rita Angus and Shona McFarlane and Palmerston North’s Julia Wallace Ryman Healthcare Retirement Villages at afternoon concerts.

The Committee gives Arts Excellence Awards for the Wellington region. Since 2010 the Committee has been able to assist some highly talented voice, piano, organ, bassoon, and viola applicants.

  • George Troup (Chair)
  • Peter Willis (Secretary)
  • David Brown Douglas (Treasurer)
  • Jane Aim
  • Penelope Borland
  • Lyn Crutchley
  • Wilbur Dovey
  • Patricia Hurley
  • Carol Reed
  • Jillian Wellings


PO Box 9976
Wellington 6141

Christchurch Committee

The Christchurch Committee has undertaken many projects and events since it began in 1997 and in excess of $300,000 has been distributed in the past 14 years.

Performance showcases for young artists with Dame Malvina have included concerts at wineries, Ryman Healthcare Ngaio Marsh, Anthony Wilding and Diana Isaac Retirement Villages in Christchurch and the Ernest Rutherford Retirement Village in Nelson, the International Inner Wheel Conference and the Akaroa Summer Festivals.

Major fundraising has been achieved through a variety of concerts and recitals, with a “Catch the Rising Stars” concert raising $10,000 for the Isaac Theatre Royal Trust towards restoration of the historic theatre.

The Christchurch committee acknowledges its sponsors: Christchurch West Rotary Club and Ryman Healthcare.

The Committee awards annual Arts Excellence Awards and the Cecily Maccoll High Achiever Award.

  • Anna Midgley (Chair)
  • Deborah Davids (Secretary)
  • Rob Clarke (Treasurer)
  • Judy Clarke
  • Nancy Grant
  • Raemon Greenwood
  • Elizabeth Jenkins
  • Jill Kelk
  • Warwick Shillito


PO Box 2324
Christchurch 8140

Otago Committee

The Otago Committee was launched in 2009 with a Mayoral reception at which Dame Malvina and other young artists performed.

Since then the committee has run a range of events to give profile to the Foundation and to make grants available for young performers.

The Committee awarded its first Arts Excellence Awards for the Otago region in 2015.

  • Susanne Chambers
  • Peter Adams
  • Claire Barton
  • Anthony Ritchie

Thank you


There was an error with the form, please try again later.